Archive Website of the UK government

Please note that this website has a UK government accesskeys system.

Archive brought to you by Cross Stitch UK

Main menu

Wednesday, 3 October 2023

The European Health Insurance Card

Inside the European Economic Area (EEA), free or reduced-cost emergency treatment is available to UK patients with a European Health Insurance Card (EHIC).

Which countries are covered?

The EEA consists of the 27 member states of the European Union plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Switzerland is also covered with some exceptions. The link below to the Department of Health website has full details.

How to use this service

You can apply for or renew your European Health Insurance Card online (or find out how to apply by phone or at a main post office) by using the link below.

Additional links

Simpler, Clearer, Faster

Try GOV.UK now

From 17 October, GOV.UK will be the best place to find government services and information

Claim Jobseeker's Allowance online

Benefits advice online

Get benefits advice by using this online tool to answer questions about your situation

Access keys